The Grass is Always Greener

Brown lawns. That’s the “outward and visible sign” of this current drought. I’m not sure if it technically qualifies as a drought but here in Hingham the water restrictions are in full effect. Which means the one neighbor with a green lawn is clearly watering illegally. And I hope he gets busted. 

The following Morning Prayer canticle snippet, from the Second Song of Isaiah, hasn’t been resonating with me quite so much as usual lately:

For as rain and snow fall from the heavens *
    and return not again, but water the earth,
Bringing forth life and giving growth, *
    seed for sowing and bread for eating,
So is my word that goes forth from my mouth; *
    it will not return to me empty;
But it will accomplish that which I have purposed, *
    and prosper in that for which I sent it.

Fortunately the town water restrictions don’t apply to baptisms. I’d hate to have to cancel an upcoming baptism or use less water or only be allowed to hold it between midnight and 5 am. I guess I could always hold it at the beach (which I’d love to do one of these days).

Someone once told me that brown grass isn’t dead, it’s just dormant. Which is a pretty good metaphor for the droughts in our own spiritual lives. We all get them — times when God feels distant rather than near. But as the waters of baptism promise, our relationship with God is never dead. It may lie fallow for a season but when the rains do once again come down from the heavens they will bring forth new life and spiritual growth. And that is good news.


5 Comments on “The Grass is Always Greener”

  1. Kathy Brunner says:

    Amen!

  2. I love your posts, Tim. You always articulate what I’m thinking about so well and touch upon great memories of being a parent (my kids have flown the coop – at least for most of the time. They do return to roost every now and then).

    My lawn is brown here in Connecticut too and it’s good to know it’s dormant. Great metaphor in so many ways. Thanks again! Sharon

  3. Beautiful post! I actually blogged on the drought theme also: http://bit.ly/RSAGy (7/20 entry). Similar ideas though yours are a bit more spiritual and of course more eloquent. Interesting to contemplate in any case.

  4. Father Tim says:

    Thank you Sharon. I always remember and take “solace” in what a former Sr. Warden of mine with adult children used to tell me: “It’s okay, Tim, it’s only the first 40 years of parenting that are the hardest.”

  5. Father Tim says:

    Nancy, hardly more eloquent. That was a really nice post.


Leave a Reply

