Lent Madness: Final Four

Thanks to all of you we have whittled down the opening field of 32 saints in Lent Madness to the Final Four. Congratulations to Francis of Assisi, Julian of Norwich, Theresa of Avila, and George Herbert. You have done yourselves proud and I will give you the day to revel in your accomplishments.

But I also know that simply getting to the Final Four is not enough. You must “press on to the goal,” to quote one of your fellow saints, a fellow named Paul who was not in this year’s tournament. As a coach, Paul also suggests that you  “forget what lies behind and strain forward to what lies ahead.” Wise advice indeed.

The match-ups will pit Francis of Assisi vs. Julian of Norwich and Theresa of Avila vs. George Herbert. You can views the updated tournament bracket here: Lent Madness 2010And may the “best” saint win.


8 Comments on “Lent Madness: Final Four”

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I thought I was in agony before but this is over the top. How will I ever choose!?! They are all my favorites!

  2. Father Tim says:

    And thus my contribution to the agony of Lent. Good luck in your discernment!

  3. Go Theresa! Really. I’m not kidding.

  4. Denise says:

    Teresa all the way! This has been a fun way to learn more about the saints this season.

  5. I vote for Jonathan Myrick Daniels to be included in the bracket next year!

  6. Father Tim says:

    Wow, the campaigning has begun in earnest. I’m curious to see who will be the first to “go negative.”

    As for JMD, he’d definitely be a good candidate IF this happens again next year. I’ll take a vote on that too when this is all over!

  7. Maureen says:

    Go George Herbert! I’ll always vote for a Salisbury Cathedral fellow!


Leave a Reply

