Totus Porkus

I gave up chips for Lent and it’s killing me. And, no, I’m not talking about the Erik Estrada TV show (though I inadvertently give that up every Lent, among other seasons). I’m talking about potato chips, tortilla chips, Fritos, etc. Actually I’ve lumped any type of salty snack food into the (snack) mix to up the degree of difficulty.

And, as I say, it’s killing me. Especially the other night when the family went out to a Mexican restaurant for dinner and I had to stare at them eating the complimentary chips and salsa. Funny that we barely got through one basket when we normally go through two.

Why chips? Because I really, really like them. I don’t have a sweet tooth but I do have a salt tooth. I don’t load up my food with salt; I just like to eat salty foods. And I figured if I was going in for the self-denial thing it had to hurt. And it does. Though Bryna claims it hurts her more than me because of my constant complaining. Let’s face it, carrots are crunchy, yes, but they’re just not good substitutes for a bag of Doritos.

In Lenten giving-it-up circles there’s always that debate over whether Sundays count or not. Since every Sunday is a day of the resurrection, even during Lent, many believe in forgoing their Lenten discipline on the Lord’s Day. I agree theologically but disagree in practice. If I’m giving something up, I want to give it for the entire season. Otherwise I’m just giving something up for six days in a row and what’s the challenge in that? Plus it will make the contrast between Lent and Easter that much more striking. It’s the same reason the crosses are veiled during Lent — they seem to shine even brighter at the Easter Vigil.

So when it comes to Lent, I’m a totus porkus kind of guy — whole hog or nothin’. And I’m looking forward to pigging out on Easter Day.


3 Comments on “Totus Porkus”

  1. Dorothee says:

    I gave up coffee😦
    I’ll pray for you if you pray for me!

  2. Father Tim says:

    Coffee? Are you nuts? If I gave up coffee I’d also have to give up other things like, oh, mornings.

  3. Cori Pursell says:

    “And also with you” used to be my response to The Lord be with you. That has changed now serving my lament to the words “The chip has gone for Lent”. This is my third Lent to give up the chip, previous Lenten sacrifices having become permanently integrated into my dailiness. Alas, not the chip, not the dip, not the salsa surround. As I wait these last few days of Holy Week, my Easter dilemma looms large, which comes first? The potato or the tortilla?


Leave a Reply

