Stairway to Heaven?

H on WWriting a sermon on Mark 9:38-50 replete with the “unquenchable fire” has made me consider my own personal Hades soundtrack. Not that I intend to put it on my i-Pod in preparation for an upcoming journey. Feel free to add to this, it’s hardly complete. Just a quick stalling tactic on my part in the middle of sermon prep. Here goes:

1. “Ring of Fire” by Johnny Cash

I fell in to a burning ring of fire
I went down, down, down
And the flames went higher.
And it burns, burns, burns
The ring of fire
The ring of fire.

2. “Sympathy for the Devil” by the Rolling Stones

I was round when Jesus Christ
Had his moment of doubt and pain
Made damn sure that Pilate
Washed his hands and sealed his fate
Pleased to meet you
Hope you guess my name

3. “Hell in a Bucket” by the Grateful Dead

I may be going to hell in a bucket, babe
But at least Im enjoying the ride

4. “Highway to Hell” by AC/DC

No stop signs, speed limit
Nobody’s gonna slow me down
I’m on the highway to hell
And I’m going down, all the way down

5. “The Devil Went Down to Georgia” by the Charlie Daniels Band

The devil went down to Georgia, he was looking for a soul to steal.
He was in a bind ‘cos he was way behind: he was willin’ to make a deal.


3 Comments on “Stairway to Heaven?”

  1. Dave Clinton says:

    Light my Fire by The Doors

    You know that it would be untrue
    You know that i would be a liar
    If i was to say to you
    Girl, we couldn’t get much higher
    Come on baby, light my fire
    Come on baby, light my fire
    Try to set the night on fire

  2. Father Tim says:

    Oooh. Good one, David.

  3. Solange says:

    “I am the God of hellfire!”

    — The Crazy World of Arthur Brown

    kickass song


Leave a Reply

