St. Somewhere

boat-drinkIf you have a snow day and there’s no school does it count as a snow day? That’s the esoteric question being posed at our house today. It’s snowing and the kids are home, which is pretty much as it should be in the week between Christmas and New Year’s. We played a board game this morning, they’ve been outside to play football, sledding’s on tap for the afternoon followed by s’mores in the fireplace. Not a bad deal.

Me? I’m in the midst of a “virtual” Carribbean vacation. I’ve been listening to a lot of Jimmy Buffett and wishing I was able to “fly to St. Somewhere.” The closest I came to the swim-up bar was doing laps at the gym this morning. My “boat drinks” (as Jimmy refers to any rum-inspired concoction) have consisted of pouring hot chocolate for the boys. And I’m more concerned with the wind chill factor than the “warm summer breezes and French wine and cheeses.”

But it’s all part of my attempt at a post-Christmas thaw. It’s going pretty well except for the requisite sermon preparation and liturgical planning. Ready or not Sunday morning (and Saturday night in this case) always comes. As Jimmy sings, “There’s a fine line between Saturday night and Sunday morning.” So true.

Maybe I’ll celebrate New Year’s Eve with a boat drink. Anyone have one of those little umbrellas? Actually it doesn’t matter; as long as I’m in bed by 9:30 I’m good. Happy New Year everyone!


2 Comments on “St. Somewhere”

  1. David says:

    Of course you remember what school Jimmy Buffet is an alumnus of?
    The same as that New York QB that everyone is bashing these days…
    and me….
    just wasting away again in SOUTHERN MISS VILLE!
    P.S. Love your book. Although I think you should have listed me ahead of some of those other slackers in your acknowledgments!

  2. Father Tim says:

    Oh, Eli Manning went to Southern Miss? Just kidding. Glad you like the book — I’ll have to dedicate a chapter in the next one to you, Brett, and Jimmy. I’ll call it “Musings on the Trinity.”


Leave a Reply

