Partial Resurrection

monstrance21I’m not sure if this is good theology or not, but I now believe in “partial resurrection.”

That i-Pod I dropped into the Pocantico River on my 40th birthday while letting Delilah get a drink following a six-mile run? On a whim I stuck it into my docking station last night and music started coming out. It was a miracle! Or at least a partial miracle because on closer inspection, nothing appeared on the screen. It lit up, but the screen was completely blank. On and on sang John Lee Hooker. Anonymously. Without attribution.

So now I’m a big believer in the Doctrine of Partial Resurrection. It may be heresy and I’d prefer if you didn’t mention this to my bishop. But the proof is in the i-Pod. I may get a monstrance for the thing and parade around with it for all to worship. Perhaps I’ll even charge per glimpse which would, of course, all go to a good cause: Father Tim’s New i-Pod Fund.


4 Comments on “Partial Resurrection”

  1. John Loughlin says:

    You may want to seek legal counsel first. I suspect that parading around with a monstrance while the ipod is producing sound will violate the terms of the Digital Millenium Copyright Act.

  2. Father Tim says:

    I’ll check with the jailed Napster folks.

  3. roo roo says:

    Isn’t that proscribed in the 39 Articles?

    “The iPod was not ordained to be gazed upon, or no be carried about, but that we should duly use it…the Doctrine of the partial Resurrection of the iPod is a fond thing, and overthroweth the nature of a Storage Device…”

  4. Father Tim says:

    Roo Roo,

    I’m afraid you know too much for your own good.


Leave a Reply

