Thumbs Up

I finally broke down and got a BlackBerry. So now I’ll be able to check my e-mail in the bathtub. I’m pretty sure I was the last 30 to 40-something male in Westchester County without one. And I admit it was nice to have something to do yesterday at Back to School Night while the principal droned on with the same speech I’ve heard for five years in a row (yes, I put it away when we actually got into the classroom).

I’m still getting used to it but I’m finding that my opposable thumbs come in handy. In another thousand years or so I think the human thumb will evolve to become the strongest muscle in the body but with a tiny tip. My thumbs are feeling pretty fat right now but it’s getting easier to manipulate. The phrase “he’s all thumbs” was a prophetic statement that would prefigure the frustration of Blackberry newbies.

I tell myself that having one of these will enhance my ministry and make me more accessible. Of course that’s also what I’m afraid of. I’m worried that I’ll become the very reason they’re referred to as “CrackBerries.” But I think Bryna will be a nice balance for me: she won’t let me sleep with it under my pillow so I can check my email whenever it vibrates in the middle of the night.

Hopefully I won’t end up like a friend of mine who’s a lawyer at a big firm in New York. He can “feel” his BlackBerry vibrating on his hip even when he doesn’t have it with him. Scary.

I’ll try to remember to turn it off on occasion. The beauty of the divine relationship with humanity is that we have access to God 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. In contrast there is absolutely no human being to whom we need access at the same capacity.

Gotta go — I’m vibrating.


5 Comments on “Thumbs Up”

  1. neva rae fox says:

    Welcome to the world of blackberries and instant communications. Let’s trade blackberry addresses!

  2. Hannah Eckersley says:

    hello, I am writing to you as a pupil at St.Nicholas school as I am currently in the middle of producing a powerpoint presentation for some ICT coursework, and I was wondering if I could possibly use your ‘thumbs up’ image in my presentation?
    many thanks
    Hannah

  3. Father Tim says:

    Hannah,

    Boy, they must do a nice job of teaching ethics at St. Nicholas School — thanks for asking! Of course you can use it and good luck with your presentation.

    Peace,

    Tim+

  4. GG says:

    Hello, I am a homosexual. Please help. I love Jesus and I do not want to go to hell. Help.

  5. Father Tim says:

    GG, All I can say is find a local Episcopal Church and you should be welcomed with open arms as a child of God. If not, let me know, and I’ll help find a church for you.


Leave a Reply

