Up and Down

I have a new obsession: tracking my book sales via Amazon rank. This is as compelling for me as hitting “send/receive” on my email. Amazon updates this every hour and the fluctuations are wild. “God’s Shoes” started out at around 750,000 dropped to 500,000 overnight a couple of days ago. After sending out a few emails about the book to friends and family it dipped all the way down to 54,000 before rising this morning back to 124,000. Amazing.

I have no idea what this means in the grand scheme of things beyond the fact that most books out there only seem to sell a handful of copies. It’s more fun than anything else. Of course it gets the competitive juices flowing. Gene Robinson’s book “In the Eye of the Storm” was at 7,000 the last time I checked. I’m coming to get you, bishop!

Granted this type of obsession also brings out the worst in us. Throughout our lives we constantly worry about our “numbers” — GPA, class rank, tax bracket. Numbers become equated with self-worth. But the only true measure of worth is ultimately based upon relationship with God. Not numbers, not rank but our status as a children of God.

Excuse me now while I check to see how many people visited my blog today…


One Comment on “Up and Down”

  1. Dorothee says:

    I was here!


Leave a Reply

