Grand Tour

Some authors have huge publicity budgets and an army of “people” – agents, editors, publicists. My operation is slightly smaller. Yes, I have a wonderful editor in Cynthia Shattuck at Morehouse. She helped me shape my forthcoming book, “What Size Are God’s Shoes? Kids, Chaos, and the Spiritual Life.” But as far as my entourage goes, that’s about it. I won’t be going on some grand book tour, staying in fancy hotel suites across the country. I’ll leave that to Tom Clancy and James Patterson. Plus I do have a day job.

To give you an inside look at my PR machine, you first have to know that my dog is my publicist. I’m not kidding – Delilah got me my first book signing gig. Most of you know I hang out a lot at Coffee Labs (a wonderful dog-friendly coffee shop in Tarrytown). One of Delilah’s best buddies is an adorable pug named Petunia. Whenever Petunia comes in, these two get right into it. It always looks like a combination of sumo wrestling and the limbo. Delilah gets as low as she can go and Petunia jumps on her head.

Anyway, it was about a year before I found out that Petunia’s owner, Beth, managed a Barnes & Noble in Newburgh (about 30 minutes north or here). She thought my book would be a great fit for her customer base and so we’re going to do an event in mid-August. Should be fun! I’ve listed it on booktour.com and as more events come up, you’ll be able to keep track of other signings, my appearance on Oprah, etc.

In the meantime, I’ve posted a new excerpt from the book on my website. Enjoy!


One Comment on “Grand Tour”

  1. Dorothee says:

    Tim,
    Christ’s Church in Rye would like to talk to you about doing a reading and book signing here, possibly as part of a roundtable discussion.
    Let’s talk!
    d


Leave a Reply

