Boston or Bust

boston-marathon.jpgAs some of you know, I’m training for the Boston Marathon on April 21st. Running’s an important part of my spiritual life — the “body” part of the Benedictine concept of nurturing body, mind, and spirit. Training for a marathon takes discipline, perseverance, and flexibility when things don’t go according to plan. Much like our respective prayer lives. Training for Boston has also been an important part of my (quickly diminishing) sabbatical.This will be my third marathon (Baltimore in 2004 and Chicago in 2007) and by far the toughest course I’ll have faced. The 26.2 mile jaunt begins in Hopkinton, Massachusetts and finishes in the center of Boston at Copley Square. It’s considered one of the more difficult marathon courses because of the Newton Hills which culminate in the infamous Heartbreak Hill near Boston College.I’ll be running to raise money for global nutrition programs through my alma mater, Tufts University. I’ve committed to raise $2,500 (they have my credit card!). So…here’s a shameless appeal for money: consider sponsoring me in this endeavor. It’s quick, easy, and tax deductible. Just log onto my fundraising website and click “sponsor this runner.” I’ll be forever grateful.

I ran 20 miles on Monday – my longest training run so far – a great way to kick off Holy Week! A little medieval self-flagellation never hurt anyone. Much. I’ll try to get in another 20 miler in two weeks and then the glorious taper begins. And then, come Patriots’ Day in Boston, I’ll be doing my best to heed St. Paul’s charge to “run with patience the race that is set before you” (Hebrews 12:1).


2 Comments on “Boston or Bust”

  1. tom says:

    Fr. Tim, I wish you the best with your training and your marathon next month. I’ve run it and it’s a mountain top experience for a marathoner.

    Trust your training and the Lord, relax and enjoy the amazing experience of the crown jewel of marathons.

  2. Father Tim says:

    Thanks, Tom. I feel privileged to have the chance to run it — I’m not fast enough to officially qualify (well, unless I was a 65-year-old woman)so I appreciate that they make exceptions for charity runners. I’m looking forward to this once-in-a-lifetime experience!


Leave a Reply

