When in Rome

Went to Community Mennonite Church in Harrisonburg, Virginia with my brother this morning. Harrisonburg is crawling with Mennonites so this was the place to check out their worship. Actually, I was all set to sneak into the local Episcopal church for an 8:00 am service but was convinced to expand my liturgical horizons while on sabbatical. I can’t remember the last time I went to something other than an Episcopal church for anything but a funeral.

It’s not like Matt’s a Mennonite or anything but the church is walking distance from his house. I was nicely but informally dressed in a sweater. Matt, for some reason, thought it would be dressy (church in the South after all) and wore a suit. He was by far the best dressed person in the place. If anyone asked, we planned to tell people he was my attorney.

The service was interesting — about as low church as anything I’ve ever experienced. The pastor was wearing street clothes, there was no choir, no candles, no communion of course. The singing was amazing. The congregation sang everything a capella, in parts. Though I’ve never sung “Crown him with many crowns” at such breakneck speed.

The sermon was about 25 minutes long which was about 25 minutes too long. Booooring. Plus I start to twitch after any sermon gets beyond 12 minutes. But overall a good reminder that there are other ways to worship God, even if they’re out of my comfort zone.


One Comment on “When in Rome”

  1. […] Episcopalian treads warily in Mennoland (and the sermon that bored him) […]


Leave a Reply

