Books Gone Wild

Bryna’s at her book club tonight. Which simply means she’s hanging out with a bunch of friends, eating well, and drinking white wine. I assume they discuss the book in between sips of chardonnay, but I have my doubts. The male equivalent of the book club is watching Monday Night Football at the local bar. The only reading involved is the appetizer menu and discussion revolves around whether to order the spicy wings or the mozzarella sticks. So basically it’s the same thing.

In contrast to Bryna’s evening, I had a frozen tamale and a glass of water for dinner and then spent the rest of my time trying to wrestle the kids to bed. Zack must be growing since he simply wouldn’t stop eating! A hamburger, applesauce, raspberries, cereal, two peanut butter sandwiches, an oatmeal cookie, and a final bowl of cereal in the two hours before bed time. And he’s the skinniest kid you ever met. I can’t imagine our grocery bills when they’re teenagers; perhaps I should invest in a cow to save money on milk. And Ben was just being sassy all evening before finally settling down to read.

But I’m not complaining. I spent much of the late afternoon at the hospital with the family of a woman who’s dying of cancer. She’s not long for this world and I’d be surprised if she makes it through the night. And it’s times like this that I especially relish the life-giving chaos of our household.



Leave a Reply

