Dreidel Song

dreidel.jpgI’ve been walking around all day singing the “Dreidel Song.” Which sounds a bit odd coming from someone wearing a clerical collar. But when you live in metropolitan New York this time of year, your kids bring home dreidels from school and walk around singing the dreidel song. You know, “Dreidel, dreidel, dreidel, I made it out of clay…” Or maybe you don’t. But it’s been stuck in my head all day and it’s driving me nuts.

Last night Zack insisted I play the dreidel game with him before bedtime. Again, a bit surreal for a priest during Advent. He whooped me big time, although he seemed to have his own rules. Perhaps I’ll call the local rabbi (we get along well) and try to get the 12 Days of Christmas in his head. That would be much worse than the Dreidel Song; I’ve always thought of it as the Christmas equivalent of 99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall.  



Leave a Reply

