Shed-o-rama

delilah2.jpgDelilah is shedding. Big time. Our 2 1/2 year old yellow lab/husky mix is the sweetest dog in the world.  But twice a year she sheds like crazy. In fact it’s more like she’s molting — perhaps she’ll come out of this as a crustacean. When she runs around she reminds me of Pigpen, except she’s followed by a cloud of fur rather than dirt. That’s a Peanuts reference for those keeping score at home.

If you have a dog — and I’d love to hear from you — you know what we’re going through. I vacuumed the rug yesterday for no apparent reason. I mean it was nice to do since I was able to get up the needles from the Christmas tree. But it didn’t have any effect whatsoever on the dog hair. It didn’t help that I was wearing a fleece pullover; I now look like a dog.

I’ll continue to take Delilah outside and brush her, though it just seems to make the hair multiply. I keep thinking if I could only invent a use for dog hair, I’d be rich. Maybe I can convince people that dog hair is the new goose down and start making coats. Sure, some people might be allergic to “doggie down” but caveat emptor (let the buyer beware)


6 Comments on “Shed-o-rama”

  1. Peek's owner says:

    My dog, Peekaboo, looks very much like Delilah. She’s a good number of years older (around 10 or 11) but their colors and faces look spot on!

  2. Father Tim says:

    It’s a great look. Delilah’s got me totally wrapped around her paw!

  3. John says:

    You’re dog looks like my dog, Lucy, except she has blue eyes. She sheds constantly because I live in the mid south and the weather is unstable. I just try to wear lots of light colors, or tell people “no outfit is complete without dog hair.” Really the whole light colors thing doesn’t work so well as Lucy is constantly either in a mud puddle or trying to be my lap dog.

  4. Lorraine Blakesley says:

    most all dogs shed, and it is a very difficult thing to control. Here’s a suggestion that really does work.
    Pet your pet w/a pair of yellow latex gloves w/nubs on the palms..you’ll be doing two things..giving you pet loving attention while petting him/her; and, you will be amazed at the amount of hair you’ll be shedding off her..your pet will love you and you will love your pet…less hair..try it – it works!

  5. Ray says:

    I actually enjoy my grooming my dog as it gives us quality bonding time while I make the dog feel good.

  6. Cara Wu says:

    Actually my puppy, sesame, looks just like her but the shelter told me he’s a husky-eskimo mix… suspicious. Anyway, the new grooming tool, called furminator, is supposed to reduce 90% of shedding. I’ve seen it at work. It’s scary efficient. Does your Delilah have short or long hair? Mine is still short but I’m waiting to see if he gets the husky coat or not. Also, some shampoos and conditioners and reduce shedding.


Leave a Reply

